Connect with us


BFI Unveils 20 Producers to Share $2.5 Million Vision Awards Funding – Variety



The BFI has introduced the 20 producers and manufacturing firms which might be set to share as much as £2 million ($2.5 million) in funding by means of its Imaginative and prescient Awards.

The fourth version of the coveted BFI Imaginative and prescient Awards, which cowl a two-year interval, offers a most of £50,000 ($62,000) per yr to every of the 20 producers or producing groups.

Recipients this yr embody “God’s Personal Nation” producer Manon Ardisson; “Chubby Humorous” producer Helen Simmons; Oliver Kassman, producer of Toronto Worldwide Movie Pageant contender “Saint Maud;” and Pleasure Gharoro-Akpojotor, producer of “Blue Story.” See beneath for full record of recipients.

The funding offers recipients artistic and monetary autonomy, serving to them to develop their movie slates and construct their companies.

The BFI stated the funding program this yr has focused extra skilled producers, who’ve made between one and three distributed initiatives, whether or not in options, tv or immersive content material. As with the earlier spherical, 50% of the BFI Imaginative and prescient Award can be non-recoupable.

The BFI’s first Imaginative and prescient Awards in 2008 supported 15 firms seeking to scale up their enterprise. With its Imaginative and prescient Awards for 2013-2015, the BFI widened the sphere by supporting 19 firms, together with 12 rising firms. The 2016-2018 Awards backed 22 manufacturing firms specializing in rising producers.

Alumni embody Emily Morgan, who along with her firm Quiddity Movies produced “I Am Not A Witch,” for which she gained the BAFTA for Excellent Debut with the movie’s writer-director Rungano Nyoni.

Bennett McGhee is one other alumni. Since establishing Silvertown Movies,  McGhee has produced function documentary “Bobby” about sporting icon Bobby Moore, launched by Leisure One within the U.Okay., and rap battle drama “VS.” with BBC Movies, launched by Altitude. Upcoming is the BBC Movies-backed, Pulse Movies collaboration “Mogul Mowgli,” starring Riz Ahmed.

Full record of BFI Imaginative and prescient Awards recipients 2020-22:

Manon Ardisson and Chiara Ventura, Ardimages U.Okay.

James Watson, Bêtes Sauvages

Emily Treasured and Lizzie Brown, Fowl Flight Movies

Chris Patterson, Causeway Photos

Kate Byers and Linn White, Early Day Movies

Stephanie Aspin and Helen Simmons, Erebus Photos

Oliver Kassman, Escape Plan Productions

Fiona Lamptey, Fruit Tree Media

Anna Griffin, Griffin Photos

Chi Thai, Scorching Knife

Pleasure Gharoro-Akpojotor, Joi Productions

Lindsey Dryden, Little By Little Movies

Pietro Greppi, Lunapark Photos

Jennifer Monks, Pencil Trick Productions

Farah Abushwesha, Rocliffe Restricted

Camilla Wren and Shirine Finest, Different Productions (Fka Roxanna Movies)

Sarah Brocklehurst, Sarah Brocklehurst Productions

Hanna Thomas And Ed Talfan, Severn Display Ltd

Fodhla Cronin O’reilly, The Sixty Six Photos

Rebecca Mark-Lawson, Tyke Movies

Individually, the BFI has introduced twelve rising producers who’re but to make their first function who will profit from its coaching programme, BFI Community Perception.

The BFI Community Perception program was set as much as deal with a niche recognized in coaching and assist for producers taking severe steps in direction of their debut function and rising sustainable, artistic firms.

The 2020-21 members embody: Sorcha Bacon, Alexandra Blue, Holly Carrington, Douglas Cox, Tony Longe, Alice Lusher, Lucy Meer, John Mckay, Lorine Plagnol, Gannesh Reynolds, Sophie Reynolds, and Barrington Robinson.

Ben Roberts, BFI chief govt, stated: “When all components of our business are feeling the impacts of this shut down, funding in our unbiased producers is extra essential than ever. They’re the cornerstone of our business, and these early-career producers can be central to bringing thrilling expertise collectively to create highly effective and culturally various tales.”

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Copyright © 2020 - 2021, All rights reserved.