- WhatsApp is joining the disappearing photos and videos club.
- It gives users more control over their privacy with the View Once feature.
- WhatsApp says View Once photos and videos are also encrypted.
WhatsApp is rolling out the disappearing photos feature which is known as ‘View Once.’ This is similar to how Instagram’s expiring media feature works. A photo will disappear once the receiver opens it and leaves the chat. The feature is currently available for Android WhatsApp users.
The feature works for videos, photos, and GIFs. If the view once button is not visible to you when sharing the media with anyone, then it means that you haven’t received the feature. One will find this feature in WhatsApp 184.108.40.206 Android version.
WhatsApp View Once- Key features:
- Media will not be saved to the recipient’s Photos or Gallery.
- Once you send a view once a photo or video, you won’t be able to view it again.
- One cannot forward, save, star, or share photos or videos that were sent or received with the view once media is enabled.
- One can only see if a recipient has opened a view once photo or video if they have read receipts turned on.
- If you don’t open the photo or video within 14 days of it being sent, the media will expire from the chat.
- An individual must select view once media each time you want to send a view once photo or video.
- View once media can be restored from backup if the message is unopened at the time of backup. If the photo or video has already been opened, the media will not be included in the backup and can’t be restored.
How to use View Once Feature?
When sending a photo or video, you can make it view once by tapping the “1” button to the left of the send button. After the recipient opens it, it’ll be deleted. The recipient will be able to see that it’s a disappearing photo. One cannot forward, save, star, or share photos or videos that were sent or received with the view once media is enabled. If media isn’t opened within 14 days, it’ll expire.
Thanks for Reading!!