- WhatsApp will not delete any account for not accepting its new privacy update.
- You’ll encounter limited functionality on WhatsApp until you accept the updates.
- The company will stop sending messages and calls to your phone.
WhatsApp said that those, who have yet to agree- will receive “frequent reminders” within the application to accept the changes. If you wish to continue, after a “period of several weeks”, you will face “limited functionality” until you accept the updated terms.
You won’t be able to access your chat list, but you can still answer the incoming phone and video calls. If you have notifications enabled, you can tap on them to read or respond to a message or call back a missed phone or video call.
“At that time, you’ll encounter limited functionality on WhatsApp until you accept the updates”.
“We’ve spent the last several months providing more information about our update to users around the world. In that time, the majority of people who have received it have accepted the update and WhatsApp continues to grow.”
“However, for those that have not yet had a chance to do so, their accounts will not be deleted or lose functionality on May 15,” the spokesperson said.
The company says that if you do not accept the new privacy terms, it will not delete your WhatsApp account keep in mind the long-time rule of account deletion after 120 days of inactivity.
According to WhatsApp, the key updates include:
- More information about its service and how it processes user data.
- How businesses can use Facebook-hosted services to store and manage their WhatsApp chats.
- How WhatsApp partners with Facebook to offer integrations across the company products.
Thanks for Reading!!